Rubber Bands- Tried and True Friends

When I was about 7 or so, me and my family went to a buddy of my dad’s house. It started out as a regular day. We arrived, went inside, greeted everyone, etc. etc. Little did I know that this was the day I would meet my first pet and best friend.
After we had gotten settled and had a bite to eat, my sisters and I went upstairs to play. We were goofing off, and a toy ended up landing across the room behind an old space heater in the corner. I crawled my little self back there to retrieve the toy, but what I found was far better. It was a red rubber band. It was about medium size, had the perfect amount of elasticity, and was dusted with that white powdery stuff that you find commonly on rubber bands. Truly beautiful. I gingerly picked it up, careful not to disturb him. But quick! He needed a name! Patooney. It was the first thing that came to my mind. So, there I had it. Patooney, my new pet. I carried him around the rest of the day. We just kinda hung around, you know, getting to know one another. Later on, Mom said to get my shoes on- it was time to leave. Oh no. How could I leave without Patooney!? I knew I couldn’t. So, with no questions asked, I put Patooney in my pocket and took him home with me.
We spent a long, enjoyable life together. (It was actually more like a few weeks, but that’s an eternity to a 7 year old. *sniffle.*) But pets don’t last forever, and eventually he was… he was gone. I don’t think I’ll ever know what really happened to Patooney, but what I do know is that friends come in unlikely shapes and sizes. They may come from the most unexpected sources, but you will love them all the same. You never forget your first pet. Rest in peace, Patooney.

Comment here if you have something to say. 0.o

