Wait… what?!

My 8 year old brother Jackson is the kind of kid who has great stories to tell, but sometimes people zone out on him before he can ever finally make it to the end- you know the type. So I was in the kitchen just kind of lingering there, but there was also 3 or 4 other people lingering there as well. It was a pretty crowded room, and I was trying to get some food amidst all of the other people going about their kitchen business. So when Jackson started asking me some 3 part question with multiple choice and fill-in-the-blanks and who knows what else, I just kind of nodded at 10 second intervals and said “uh-huh” and “mm-hmm” while dodging around the crowd. After a few long minutes of my “pretending to listen” charade, he asked “So, can I?” I threw a nod over in his direction and told him to go ahead.
I looked over a few seconds later and he wielded the long-handled dustpan, scraping at the inside of the silverware drawer! I asked him what the heck he was doing and he just calmly replied “You said I could.”
I still to this day have absolutely no idea what question I said yes to, but now I know that maybe I should listen when Jackson has something to say. After all, it’s obviously pretty interesting. ;)

Comment here if you have something to say. 0.o

